SPENCER: PAST, PRESENT, AND FUTURE

by Viktor Tejada

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
Spencer, it’s me. I have time travelled from the present to tell you something extremely important.

PAST SPENCER
I’m sorry uh, what? You time travelled from the present?

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
Indeed I have. Now, let me tell you about the-

PAST SPENCER
Wait, I’m really sorry. I just can’t wrap my head around this. You really time travelled from the present? Like the present present? Because this place, where we are right now, pretty much feels like the present to me.

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
That’s not the point, Spencer! Jeez, I have to tell you how important the-

PAST SPENCER
So if you travelled from the present, are you saying you just walked here?

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
What? No, you idiot! I time travelled from my present. My present. We’re running out of time!
Your-

PAST SPENCER
Am I really the idiot here? Because I’m pretty sure should’ve said you time travelled from the past or the future.

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
What are you talking about? If I time travelled from the past, I should’ve done it ten minutes ago.

PAST SPENCER
In which you did, right?

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
Yeah well, I was pretty much in the present that time. Hence, I have time travelled from the present. Now about-

PAST SPENCER
See, that’s the part where you’re wrong. That present of yours, happened ten minutes ago. Meaning, you time travelled from the past to my present time.

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
Oh. Uh yeah, I guess. Fine, I time travelled from the present’s past to come tell you that youre-

PAST SPENCER
No, no, you just say you time travelled from the past, not the present’s past.

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
Okay mister smart guy, shut up. If I time travelled from the past, that wouldn’t mean I time travelled from the present anymore.

PAST SPENCER
Exactly the point.

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
So are you saying that each passing second, is the past?

PAST SPENCER
Yessiree.

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
And now, like right now, is the present?

PAST SPENCER
Yup.

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
But I just said now a few seconds ago.

PAST SPENCER
What are you trying to say?

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
Is there really a present time?

PAST SPENCER
What? Yes, of course there is! Now, what’s your message for me, past Spencer?

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
Oh, I’m actually older than you. I guess you can say I’m from the future.

PAST SPENCER
What the hell, man. All this time you’ve been insisting you’re from the present. Now you’re telling me you’re from the future?

TIME TRAVELER SPENCER
I’m sorry! There’s no time left! In the near future, you’re going to meet someone really strange; and as time goes on, you become more stubborn and stupi- *TIME TRAVELER SPENCER VANISHES*

PAST SPENCER
Whoa, hey! Don’t leave me hanging like that, Spencer! Were you from the past, present, or the future? I demand to know!

PAST SPENCER
Now, what was he blabbering about my future? Eh, whatever.

